This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Río Primero Department, Córdoba Province, Argentina

Last modified: 2021-12-24 by rob raeside
Keywords: río primero department | córdoba province | argentina |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

La Puerta Municipality

[La Puerta municipal flag] image by Ivan Sache, 17 Jan 2014

The municipality of La Puerta (1,943 inhabitants in 2001) is located in the northeast of the Cordoba Province, 125 km from Córdoba City.

The flag of La Puerta is vertically divided celeste blue-white-green with a black "quebracho blanco"* in the middle.

The flag was inaugurated on 16 December 2012 during the celebration of the 102nd anniversary of the foundation of the town.

The vertical division of the flag is associated with force, permanence, safety and confidence. Celeste blue and white are the colours of the national flag and of the cloak of the Blessed Virgin of the Assumption, the town's patron saint. Green is the colour of the natural environment and of the growing cereals used to feed people. The tree is represented with erected trunk, six main branches arranged in an almost symmetrical pattern, and other smaller, secondary branches. It symbolizes robustness, elegance and kindness. The baseline means that the tree has deep local roots. The tree is the silent witness of the history of La Puerta, his wood having been used in cola mining. Black refers to coal.

*Aspidosperma quebracho-blanco Schltdl. is a tree native to central and northern Argentina, southeastern Bolivia, western Paraguay and western Uruguay.

Ivan Sache, 17 Jan 2014

Other sites: