This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Murdi Paaki Regional Assembly (Australia)

Last modified: 2016-02-27 by ian macdonald
Keywords: murdi paaki regional assembly |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Thanh-Tam Le, 1 May 2010

See also:

Description of the flag

Murdi Paaki Regional Assembly (MPRA) is the peak representative structure that represents the interest of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in 16 communities across Western NSW.
Murdi Paaki (pronounced muddy parky) means "blackmans river", it was a name that was selected by the newly created ATSIC Regional Council which came from amendments in 1993 to the ATSIC Act 1989 to amalgamate the former Wangkumara and Far West Regional Councils into a single Council.

About the flag:
The Murdi Paaki flag was chosen by the Murdi Paaki Regional Council to depict the regions Aboriginal people with the traditional colours of red, black and yellow, the river and fish, the white colour means good spirit. The flag was designed by ATSIC Officer Tony Burton who was once President of the Flags Australia and came second place in the competition to design a new Australian Flag in the mid 1990s. When flying in the breeze, the flags checkered design in the shape of arrowheads, is to give the impression of fish swimming in river.

The Murdi Paaki Flag has become a well known and recognised symbol, being used by Murdi Paaki Regional Assembly, Murdi Paaki Regional Enterprise Corporation, Murdi Paaki Regional Housing Corporation and various partners in joint programs and projects. Murdi Paaki Aboriginal Young Leaders Program use the name, but have chosen to create their own design to identify their place in the region. Murdi Paaki Regional Council on its abolition, vested intellectual property rights to the name Murdi Paaki and the Murdi Paaki flag.
All information and image of the flag on the official website:
Valentin Poposki, 1 May 2010