This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (SA, Australia)

Last modified: 2015-06-22 by ian macdonald
Keywords: anangu pitjantjatjara yankunytjatjara | map: aboriginal |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara] image by Jens Pattke, 31 Aug 2001

See also:


Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) is incorporated by the 1981 Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Rights Act whereby the South Australian Parliament gave Aboriginal people title to more than 103,000 square kilometres of arid land in the far northwest of South Australia. All Pitjantjatjara, Yankunytjatjara and Ngaanyatjarra people who are traditional owners of any part of the Lands are members of Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara. Communities on the Lands include: Amata, Fregon, Indulkana, Mimili, Pipalyatjara, and Pukatja (Ernabella). The administrative centre of the Lands is Umuwa, near Pukatja.

The flag of APY is shown on a photo. You should save the photo and zoom it to see the details of the flag. As I can see, it is the logo on red background.
Valentin Poposki, 31 August 2007

See also the flag described as the flag of the Anangu traditional owners, presented to the state government as part of a partition, seemingly by people from the APY council. I wonder which flag is referred to in the minutes of a Wiru Palyantjaku (Anangu Task force) meeting on 8 Feb 2006 (PDF file), where it says "Mr Lewis also showed the members of WP the Anangu Flag, which was launched in Adelaide that he said represents the Anangu people of the APY Lands."
Jonathan Dixon, 31 August 2007

from the (very) little I know of Aborigine art, I suspect it could be a stylised map showing watering holes, but that's really a complete guess.
James Dignan, 31 August 2007