This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kortenaken (Municipality, Province of Flemish Brabant, Belgium)

Last modified: 2007-12-22 by ivan sache
Keywords: kortenaken |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


[Flag of Kortenaken]

Municipal flag of Kortenaken - Image by Ivan Sache, 29 October 2001

See also:

Presentation of Kortenaken

The municipality of Kortenaken (7,578 inhabitants on 1 January 2007; 4,910 sq. km) is located in the region of Hageland, in eastern Brabant. The municipality of Kortenaken is made since 1976 of the former municipalities of Kortenaken, Hoeleden, Kersbeek-Miskom, Ransberg and Waanrode.

Ivan Sache, 8 August 2007

Municipal flag of Kortenaken

The municipal flag of Kortenaken is horizontally divided blue-yellow-red-yellow-blue (1:1:2:1:1).
According to Gemeentewapens in België - Vlaanderen en Brussel, the flag was adopted by the Municipal Council on 4 February 1988, confirmed by the Executive of Flanders on 14 June 1988 and published in the Belgian official gazette on 16 September 1988.
The five stripes stand for the five components of the municipality, the central red stripe, twice bigger than the other, standing for the "double" municipality of Kersbeek-Miskom.

The flag is flown in front of the town hall, as shown on a photography available on the municipal website.

Pascal Vagnat & Ivan Sache, 8 August 2007