This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nieuwerkerken (Municipality, Province of Limburg, Belgium)

Last modified: 2008-03-29 by ivan sache
Keywords: nieuwerkerken | crozier (yellow) | loon | w |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Nieuwerkerken]

Municipal flag of Nieuwerkerken - Image by Arnaud Leroy, 23 November 2005

See also:

Presentation of Nieuwerkerken

The municipality of Nieuwerkerken (6,685 inhabitants on 1 January 2007; 2,246 ha, therefore one of the smallest municipalities in Limburg) is located near Hasselt, in the heart of the region of Haspengouw. The municipality of Nieuwerkerken is made since 1976 of the former municipalities of Nieuwerkerken, Binderveld, Kozen and Wijer.

Nieuwerkerken was mentioned in 1139, as Nova Ecclesia, "the New Church". Until 1785, most of Nieuwerkerken belonged to the County of Loon, whereas Kozen belonged to the Abbey of Averbode. The village had an odd legal status that made of it an asylum for all kinds of criminals.

Source: Haspengouw tourism website

Ivan Sache, 23 November 2005

Municipal flag of Nieuwerkerken

The municipal flag of Nieuwerkerken is divided into ten horizontal yellow-red-yellow-red-yellow-red-yellow-red-yellow-red stripes, with a red triangle placed along the hoist and charged with a yellow bishop's crozier.
According to Gemeentewapens in België - Vlaanderen en Brussel, the flag was adopted by the Municipal Council on 23 May 1985, confirmed by the Executive of Flanders on 1 July 1985 and published in the Belgian official gazette on 8 July 1986.
The yellow and red stripes are taken from the coat of arms of the County of Loon, whereas the crozier represents the Saint-Lambert chapter in Liège.

The municipal arms of Nieuwerkerken, as shown on the International Civic Heraldry website are "Per pale, Loon, gules a saint Lambert holding a bishop's crozier in sinister.

Arnaud Leroy, Pascal Vagnat & Ivan Sache, 23 November 2005