This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Santa Mariana, Paraná (Brazil)

Last modified: 2022-03-05 by ian macdonald
Keywords: parana | santa mariana |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Santa Mariana (Paraná), PR (Brazil)] image by Ivan Sache, 10 February 2022
See also:

About the Flag

The municipality of Santa Mariana (12,437 inhabitants in 2010; 42,391 ha) is located on the border with São Paulo, 450 km north-west of Curitiba. The municipality is composed of the districts of Santa Mariana (seat), Panema and Quinzópolis (established by Law No. 245 promulgated on 20 January 1961).

Santa Mariana was established in 1934 on a domain owned by Francisco Junqueira; the tradition says that the new settlement was named for his wife, Mariana Junqueira.
The district of Santa Mariana was established, part of the municipality of Bandeirantes, by State Decree-Law No. 7,573 promulgated on 20 October 1938, to be elevated a municipality by State Law No. 2 promulgated on 11 October 1947.
Municipal website

The flag of Santa Mariana is yellow, quartered by a red-white-red saltire superimposed by a white rectangle inscribing the municipal coat of arms, and with a cross of the Order of Christ in each quarter.


Ivan Sache, 10 February 2022