This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Bighorn No. 8 [Municipal District], Alberta (Canada)

Last modified: 2011-08-20 by rob raeside
Keywords: alberta | bighorn | bighorn sheep head |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Bighorn image by Eugene Ipavec, 12 December 2009

Municipalities in Bighorn Municipal District No. 8:

See also:

Description of the flag

The flag of the Municipal District of Bighorn No.8, Alberta, is white with district logo on it. The logo is seal-like with Bighorn sheep's head in the circle, and the words "MUNICIPAL" and "DISTRICT of BIGHORN" divided with two white dots on a green background in the outer circle. The flag represents municipality's name, which reflects the predominance of the Rocky Mountain Bighorn sheep in this area. Information and logo image courtesy by Martin Buckley, C.A.O., M.D. of Bighorn.

About the district:

The Municipal District of Bighorn is a rural municipality, located on the eastern slopes of the Alberta Rocky Mountains, immediately adjacent to the Banff National Park. Covering approximately 2700 square kilometres, Bighorn is a region of great diversity, and one that encompasses a range of land uses and people. One will find recreationally-oriented lands in the far west, a country residential base in the southern end, agriculturally-based residents in the north and east, and various industries (oil and gas, mineral extraction and processing, logging) scattered throughout. Roughly half of Bighorn's total population is found in the five hamlets located within the M.D.: Benchlands, Dead Man's Flats, Exshaw, Harvie Heights, and Lac Des Arc. The MD was officially incorporated as a self-governing jurisdiction back in 1988. Since then, it has undergone an annexation by the Town of Canmore in the early 1990's, and a boundary adjustment resulting in considerable expansion in the mid-90's, to todays' situation.

from Municipal District of Bighorn.

Valentin Poposki, 17 September 2009