This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lac Ste. Anne County, Alberta (Canada)

Last modified: 2021-12-31 by rob raeside
Keywords: alberta | lac ste anne county | map |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Lac Ste. Anne image by Valentin Poposki, 6 December 2021

Municipalities in Lac Ste. Anne County:

See also:

Description of the flag

The County of Lac Ste. Anne (population: 9,516) is named after the First Roman Catholic Mission in the area which was established by Rev. Jean-Baptiste Thibault in 1844.

The County with a "Mission" is a reference to the annual pilgrimage to the original site of the Mission where as many as 40,000 believers gather to seek physical and spiritual healing in the lake waters of Lac Ste. Anne. Prior to the arrival of Europeans, the lake had spiritual significance to the Aboriginal and Metis people.*

* Source:
Darrell Neuman, 1 August 2007

Lac Ste. Anne County also has a new flag
Valentin Poposki, 3 December 2021

Former flag

Lac Ste. Anne image contributed by Darrell Neuman, 1 August 2007

The flag illustrates the boundaries of the County and the shoreline of Lac Ste. Anne.
Darrell Neuman, 1 August 2007