This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Mono, Ontario (Canada)

Dufferin County

Last modified: 2017-04-08 by rob raeside
Keywords: mono | ontario |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Mono image by Ivan Sache, 26 March 2017

See also:

The Municipality

The municipality of Mono (7,546 inhabitants in 2011; 27,778 ha) is located just north of Caledon.

The original Township of Mono was incorporated in 1849, though mention was made as far back as 1821 in the legislation that created Simcoe County. Simcoe County was later partitioned, along with Wellington County, to form the County of Dufferin. In 1999 Mono changed from a Township, officially becoming the Town of Mono on May 14th of that year.

Considerable speculation surrounds the origin of the name Mono. It is suggested that Sir Peregrine Maitland, Lieutenant Governor of Upper Canada from 1818 to 1828, and who had served in Spain, had a fondness for foreign names, may have named the township after the Spanish word for monkey, "mono". Some people claim that Mono was named after a daughter of the Shawnee chief Tecumseh; however, this interpretation has been challenged as historically inaccurate, citing that Tecumseh only had one child, a son named Pageshashenwa. Another explanation is that Mono was named after the Gaelic word "monadh", meaning "hilly" or "hill-pasture".

In his book published in 1930 "Indian Place Names in Ontario", Captain William Francis Moore further suggests that Mono may have taken its name from the Indian word "mahnoo" meaning "let it be so". Though he does not specifically attribute it, Moore likely took the meaning of "mahnoo" from Elijah Middlebrook Haines' treatise on the culture and language of North American Indians titled, "The American Indian (Un-nish-in-na-ba). The Whole Subject Complete In One Volume" published in 1888. - Municipal website

Ivan Sache, 26 March 2017

Description of the flag

 The flag of Mono is vertically divided green-white-green (1:2:1) with the municipal coat of arms in the center.


The arms of Mono were designed by Mr. William. J. Bakker in 1981 in a project celebrating the centennial year of Dufferin County. The maple leaves at the top are reproduced from the County of Dufferin coat of arms and signify that Mono is one of its constituent municipalities, in addition to their symbolism of Canada itself. The plough is a historical recognition of the farming pioneers who settled Mono and of the continued importance of agriculture in the municipality. The three fish represent the three major rivers whose headwaters rise in Mono: the Credit, the Humber and the Nottawasaga, and also the abundant wildlife. The tree represents Mono’s forests and natural beauty. The skier represents the availability of recreational activities in Mono and the rolling terrain which constitutes much of the landscape. - Municipal website

Ivan Sache, 26 March 2017