This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Costa Rica - Historical Flag (1823)

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by rob raeside
Keywords: costa rica |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of independence]
image by Jaume Ollé and Ivan Sache, 13 August 2013

See also:

Flag of June 1823

This flag was hoisted for first time on 6 June 1823, after the proclamation of independence from Mexico (10 May 1823). I think that the six pointed star symbolized six districts, but I don't know what these were, perhaps Chiapas, Guatemala, San Salvador, Costa Rica, Nicaragua and Honduras, or six "Ayuntamientos" of the territory (I read about the two versions).
Jaume Ollé, 26 August 1996

Flag adopted on 6 June 1823. Coat of arms Adopted 4 March 1823. Flag abolished on 4 March 1824. Coat of arms abolished on 21 August 1823.
Jaume Ollé

After the independence of Spain in 1821, there were the following independent nations: Costa Rica, Partido de Nicoya (later annexed to Costa Rica in 1824), Nicaragua, Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala, Chiapas, Soconusco and Verapaz. Just the last three joined the Mexican Nation. The others were discussing the joining but never did. This is why the capital of Costa Rica changed from Cartago to San José because Cartago and Heredia wanted the annexation and San Jose and Alajuela wanted a free nation. They said that Cartago was not a good example.
Javier Abreu, 13 March 2006

Coat of Arms

image by Jaume Ollé