This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Municipality of Ihlow (East Frisia, Germany)

Gemeinde Ihlow, Kreis Aurich, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: ihlow | east frisia | trefoils(12) | crozier |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Ihlow municipal flag] image by Stefan Schwoon, 29 Dec 2003
approved 10 September 1974 See also:

Municipality of Ihlow

Ihlow Municipal Flag

Description of flag:
It is a red over green horizontal bicolour. The coat of arms is in the centre of the flag.
Source: Stefan Schwoon's database
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 29 Dec 2013

Ihlow Coat of Arms

Description of coat of arms:
The shield is divided per pale into gold (= yellow) and red. The dexter half dispalys 12 green trefoils ordered 2:3:2:3:2. The sinister half displays a golden (= yellow) crozier issuant.
The crozier is representing the medieval Ihlow monastery. The 12 trefoils are symbolizing the the rural environment. Their number is representing the 12 former municipalities, from which Ihlow was made. The draft, made by local archivist Stefan Pötzsch, had the colours red and yellow. The final colours were fixed by the local council on 7 May 1974.
Source: Stefan Schwoon's database

Flag and coat of arms were approved by Regierungspräsident Aurich on 10 September 1974.
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 29 Dec 2013

back to Aurich cities and municipalities click here