This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Municipality of Satow (Germany)

Gemeinde Satow, Landkreis Rostock, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by german editorial team
Keywords: satow | acorn | apple tree | monk |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:
  • County and Municipal Flags (Mecklenburg-Westpomerania / Mecklenburg-Vorpommern)
  • Rostock county
  • Bad Doberan county
  • Mecklenburg-Westpomerania (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern)
  • Germany

  • Current Flag

    [Satow flag] 3:5 image by Klaus-Michael Schneider, 2 May 2011

    Description of current flag:
    It is a white flag. The ratio is estimated 4:11. The local coat of arms is placed onto the 2nd quarter from above.
    Source: I spotted this flag on 27 April 2011 in the town hall of Satow.
    Klaus-Michael Schneider, 2 May 2011

    Coat of Arms

    Description of coat of arms:
    The shield is divided per pale. On the dexter half is a silver(=white) apple tree bearing three apples. On the sinister half is a red monk in a silver(=white) field. The shield has a golden(=yellow) chief containing seven green acorns ordered horizontally.
    In §1(2) of the local Hauptsatzung, version13 January 1998, updated 9 August 2000, only the coat of arms is mentioned but no flag. The flag described above is that one used by the town hall. According to the municipal webpage the former municipality of Satow consisted of the villages of Satow, Gerdshagen, Groß Nienhagen, Horst, Lüningshagen, Rederank and Rosenhagen. The seven acorns are probably symbolizing these villages of the former municipality.
    The municipality is famous for its production of juices and musts of all kind of fruit, especially apples and sea buckthorne(Latin: Hippophae rhamnoides). The tree might symbolize this tradition. The monk might be a Cistercan, but I am not sure. Satow had been the capital of a VG since 18 January 1991 which was changed into the Satow subcounty (Amt) on 1 May 1992. The other municipalities were Bölkow, Hanstorf, Heiligenhagen, Radegast and Reinshagen. On 1 July 2003 the subcounty was changed into the (new) municipality of Satow and the subcounty was dissolved.

    The coat of arms was approved by minister of interior of Mecklenburg-Westpomerania on 18 April 2005, published in the roll of arms of Mecklenburg-Westpomerania as no. 0296. The flag is used unofficially.

    back to Rostock cities and municipalities click here

    Return to Top of this Page |   | Return to Home Page (Site Search Engines) |