This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Karlsruhe County (Germany)

Kreis Karlsruhe, Karlsruhe District, Baden-Württemberg

Last modified: 2013-04-13 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: karlsruhe county | quartered | bend(red) | cross(silver) | lozengy | antlers(3) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Karlsruhe county flag] 5:2 image by Stefan Schwoon

approved 28 November 1988
See also:


Red-yellow with the arms. The cross in the second quarter stands for the diocese of Speyer, one of the former landowners. Source: Falko Schmidt, arms (probably) from Stadler 1964-1971.

Stefan Schwoon, 18 March 2001

Adopted 28.11.1988, according to Dirk Schönberger's Administrative Divisions of the World website. From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

(...) After the municipal reform the new arms were granted on August 31, 1973. (...) In the new arms the first quarter is (...) derived from (...) the arms of the counts of Baden. (...) The second quarter is derived from the arms of the Prince-Bishops of Speyer, and is derived from the arms of Bruchsal. (...) The third quarter shows the arms of the Wittelsbach family (...), longtime [Elector-]Princes (Kurfürsten) of the Palatinate. The fourth quarter shows the arms of the Duchy of Württemberg. The order of the quarters was determined from the number of municipalities that used to belong to the four different areas. The coat of arms was adopted on 31 August 1973.

Literature: Stadler 1964-1971 and Linder and Olzog 1996.

Santiago Dotor, 4 March 2002

Civil Flag

[Karlsruhe county flag] 5:2 image by Santiago Dotor
approved 28 November 1988

back to Baden-Württemberg counties and municipalities click here