This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Merzig-Wadern County (Germany)

Landkreis Merzig-Wadern, Saarland

Last modified: 2020-03-22 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: merzig-wadern | cross(red) | crampon(bendy) | bend | eaglets(3) | lion(red) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Merzig-Wadern county flag ] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 29 June 2014 See also:

Merzig-Wadern County

Merzig-Wadern County Flag

It is a red-yellow horizontal bicolour with centred arms.
Source: this online catalogue
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 29 June 2014

Merzig-Wadern County Banner

[Merzig-Wadern county banner] 5:2 image by Jörg Majewski and Klaus-Michael Schneider, 22 Mar 2020

It is a red-yellow vrical bicolour with arms shifted to the top.
Source: this online catalogue
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 22 Mar 2020

Merzig-Wadern County Coat of Arms

The shield is quartered. Above right the silver (= white) field is divided by a red, centred cross. Above left the golden (= yellow) field is divided by a red bend superimposed by three silver (= white) eaglets bendy. Below right is a red crampon in a golden (= yellow) field. Below left is a red, rampant, double-queued lion, crowned golden (= yellow) in a field, which is nine times divided per fess into silver (= white) and blue.
Each quarter is representing one of the former rulers of parts of the nowadays county. The first quarter is representing the Archbishopric and Electorate of Trier with the former districts (Ämter) Saarburg and Grimburg . The former is now divided between Saarland and Rhineland-Palatinate. The second quarter is representing the Dukes of Lothringen, who had a condominion over the court-district Merzig-Saargau until 1778 together with Trier. The crampon (or wolf trap) is representing Soetern and Wadern. The fourth quarter is representing Luxembourg, as the western part of the county historically belonged to the Grand-Dukes of Luxemburg.
Source: Stadler 1966, p.101

Flag colours and arms were approved on 1 February 1966.
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 29 June 2014

back to back to Saarland counties and municipalities click here