This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Eichenbühl Municipality (Germany)

Gemeinde Eichenbühl, Landkreis Miltenberg, Bayern

Last modified: 2022-01-15 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: eichenbuehl | wheel | jug | cross(trefly) | oak(twig) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Eichenbühl municipal banner] 5:2 image by Jörg Majewski, 10 Jan 2022
See also:

Eichenbühl Municipality

Eichenbühl Banner

It is a red-white-red vertical triband. The coat of arms is shifted towards the top.
Source: this online catalogue
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 10 Jan 2022

Eichenbühl Coat of Arms

Shield parted enhanced per saltire, 1st quarter (dexter) Argent a twice spouted jug Gules, 2nd quarter (chief) Gules a 6-spokes wheel Argent, 3rd quarter (sinister) Argent a pennant Gules in bend sinister charged with a cross trefly Argent, 4th quarter (bottom) Gules an oak twig Argent having three acorns and two leaves.
The municipality was established in 1974 by a merger of Eichenbühl proper, Heppdiel, Riedern and Windischbuchen. The wheel is alluding to the Archbishopric of Mainz, to which the area belonged for centuries until 1803. The pennant is representing Heppdiel and is an attribute of St. Maurice, its local patron saint. The jug is taken from the arms of the Lords of Riedern, who lived in the namesake village between 1206 and 1588. The oak twig is representing Eichenbühl proper and is canting. The ensemble appeared first on an architectural sculpture of the local parish church and had also been part of its former municipal arms, approved in 1959.
Source: Klaus Reder: "Unterfränkisches Wappenbuch", CD-R, Würzburg 1997
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 10 Jan 2022

Banner and arms were approved on 30 January 1995 by district governor (Regierungspräsident) of Unterfranken.
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 10 Jan 2022

back to Miltenberg cities and municipalities click here