This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Baltrum Island (East Frisia, Lower Saxony, Germany)

Baltrum Municipality, Gemeinde Baltrum

Last modified: 2011-06-13 by german editorial team
Keywords: lower saxony | niedersachsen | east frisia | ostfriesland | baltrum | coat of arms (belfry: yellow) | coat of arms (mullet pierced: yellow) | coat of arms (mullet pierced: 2) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Baltrum Island (East Frisia, Lower Saxony, Germany)] 3:5
by Stefan Schwoon
Coat-of-arms adopted 1960

See also:


Baltrum is the smallest of the seven East Frisian islands. The flag is blue-yellow, occasionally with the arms. Sources: van Heijnigen 1998, arms from Stadler 1964-1972.

Stefan Schwoon, 28 March 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms were granted in 1960 and show the local bell-tower, which has been the symbol of the island for more than 150 years. The spurs are taken from the arms of Norden. The colours symbolise sand and water.

Data/pictures taken from: K. Leiner, Panorama Norden, Norden, 1972 and Stadler 1964-1972.

Santiago Dotor, 22 February 2002