This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Osnabrück County (Germany)

Landkreis Osnabrück, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: osnabrueck county |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Osnabrück County flag] 3:5 image by Stefan Schwoon, 2 Feb 2001
Flag adopted 11 July 1994

See also:

Osnabrück County

Red-yellow-blue flag, bearing the arms. I cannot find my notes on this flag, but it was mentioned in a note somewhere in DGF Nachrichten. Adopted 11 July 1994, according to Dirk Schönberger's Administrative Divisions of the World website. Arms (from Stadler 1964, p.71; based on the image at Ralf Hartemink's .
Stefan Schwoon, 2 Feb 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's Ralf Hartemink's webpage: The arms were adopted on July 17, 1947. The arms show the Benno Tower [Bennoturm] in Iburg. The tower was built in 1068 by Bishop Benno II of Osnabrück as one of his residences. The tower also was part of a Benedictine monastery and was of major strategic importance until 1673. In 1673 the bishops moved to their new palace in Osnabrück city and the tower lost its importance. The monastery was abandoned in 1803. The wheel is the wheel of the city of Osnabrück.
Literature: Stadler 1964-1971.
Santiago Dotor, 24 Oct 2001

The Kreis Osnabröck is historically identical with the Prince-Bishopric of Osnabrück, which in 1803 was annexed by Hannover.
Alexander Ganse, 5 Nov 2001