This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Thuringian Historical Flags (Germany)

Thüringen: Historische Flaggen

Last modified: 2019-06-19 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: thuringia | thueringen | saxe-weimar-eisenach | saxe-meiningen | saxe-altenburg | saxe-coburg-gotha | reuss-gera | reuss-greiz | schwarzburg-rudolstadt | schwarzburg-sondershausen |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

On this page: On Other pages: Territories which were merged in 1920 to make Thuringia. See also:


After World War One, the various duchies and principalities in the Thuringian region were merged [in 1920] to form the State of Thuringia [except Saxe-Coburg which joined Bavaria].
Norman Martin, Mar 1998

The small Ernestine Saxon Duchies and other nearby states (eg. People's Republic of Reuss) were merged into a new republic named Thuringia. White over red flag was adopted.
Jaume Ollé, 24 Aug 1998

The Saxon Duchies and the Kingdom of Saxony
The Albertine and Ernestine lines of the Wettin dinasty

The later duchy of (Upper) Saxony was formed out of the Saxon Palatinate after the duchy of Saxony proper (now Lower Saxony or Niedersachsen) was liquidated in 1180. In 1243 the counts of Meißen were made Landgraves of Thuringia. In 1423 Margrave Friedrich of Meißen, Count of Wettin, received the duchy and the electoral dignity of Upper Saxony. His grandsons however partitioned the territories in 1485. The elder line derives from Duke Ernst of Saxony, Landgrave of Thuringia and Lord of Coburg. It inherited Thuringia but had to give up the electoral dignity by order of Emperor Karl V in 1547 to the younger branch of the house, the Albertine branch of the later Kings of Saxony. The Ernestine branch divided itself further in later centuries.
Theo van der Zalm, 15 June 2001

[The] Wettin [were a] German dynasty, which ruled in Saxony, Thuringia, Poland, Great Britain, Belgium and Bulgaria. It takes its name from a castle on the Saale near Halle. The family gained prominence in the 10th century as leaders in the German expansion to the east, which made Saxony and Lusatia German. It acquired (c.1100) the Margraviate of Meißen and soon expanded its domains to include most of Saxony and Thuringia. In 1423, Friedrich the Warlike of Meißen was granted Saxony and he became (1425) Elector of Saxony as Friedrich I.
The Wettin holdings were repeatedly subdivided. The most important division (1485) established the Ernestine branch and the Albertine branch, named for Friedrich II's sons Ernst and Albert. The electoral title and most of Saxony passed in 1547 from the Ernestine to the Albertine branch. The Ernestine branch retained its possessions in Thuringia but split into several collateral branches. In 1918, when the house of Wettin was deposed in Thuringia and Saxony, its Thuringian holdings consisted of Saxe-Weimar-Eisenach, a grand duchy, and of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha (see under Saxe-Coburg), Saxe-Meiningen, and Saxe-Altenburg, which were duchies.
- From the branch of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha the Belgian, the English, and the Bulgarian dynasties were descended through, respectively, Leopold I of the Belgians, Prince Albert (consort of Queen Victoria), and Czar Ferdinand of Bulgaria. The English house changed its name to Windsor; the Bulgarian branch was deposed in 1946. A cousin of Prince Albert married Queen Maria II of Portugal and became king consort as Ferdinand II of Portugal.
The Albertine line ruled in Saxony, obtaining hereditary royal rank in 1806; it also ruled Poland from 1697 to 1763....
Source: obsolete page of Infoplease websites
Santiago Dotor, 15 July 2002

back to Thuringia main page click here