This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Wesel County (Germany)

Kreis Wesel, Northrhine-Westphalia

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: northrhine-westphalia | wesel county | willow tree | banner of arms |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Wesel County (North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany)] 7:9  image by Stefan Schwoon
adopted 14 July 1978

See also:


A banner of arms, a white willow tree on a green field. Proportions 7:9. Source: Erich Dieter Linder, Die Flaggen deutscher Landkreise (Flags of German counties), in Der Flaggenkurier no. 2, 1996, pp. 4-10. Original source [of the arms] is Nagel 1986. Adopted 14.07.1978, according to Dirk Schönberger's Administrative Divisions of the World website.
Stefan Schwoon, 6 February 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms of the three former counties [Dinslaken, Moers (both partly) and Rees] could not be combined, so new arms were devised. The tree symbolises the local tree Kopfweide (a type of willow), with 13 branches and three roots. The branches represent the municipalities and cities in the district and the roots are the three former districts.
Literature: Nagel 1986.

Santiago Dotor, 26 October 2001

Flag and coat-of-arms were approved by Regierungspräsident Düsseldorf on 14 July 1978

back to index of Northrhine-Westphalia county-free cities and counties page click here