This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Egestorf municipality (Germany)

Gemeinde Egestorf, Samtgemeinde Hanstedt, Harburg county, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2011-02-25 by editor unassigned
Keywords: egestorf |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Egestorf municipality] 3:5 image by Klaus-Michael Schneider, 11 Apr 2007
adopted 19 Mar 1984

See also:

Municipality of Egestorf

Municipality of Egestorf (Samtgemeinde* Hanstedt / Harburg county / Lower Saxony).
Its ratio is 3:5. It's a yellow over white horizontal bicolour superimposed by the coat of arms in the centre of the flag.
Description of coat of arms: In a red shield is a silver (=white) church with a separated bell-tower on the chief and five golden (=yellow) ears of grain on the base.
Meaning: It's a picture of the old St.Stephens (=Stephanus) church in Egestorf.
The grain symbolizes the 5 village which form the municipality. They are Egestorf, Sahrendorf, Schätzendorf , Döhle and Evendorf. The villages were united on 1 July 1972. Sahrendorf and Schätzendorf merged already in 1928.
Source: The image of the flag was made according to Hauptstaatsarchiv Hannover, where the flag was submitted on 19 March 1984, so described in The information about the coat of arms was taken from "Samtgemeinde Hanstedt Bürgerinformationen 2007/2008" p.30.
*A "Samtgemeinde", also called "collective municipality" is a combination of several municipalities to an administrative community in Lower Saxony.
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 11 Apr 2007