This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Julio Moreno Parish (Guaranda Canton, Bolivar province, Ecuador)

Last modified: 2021-08-26 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: bolivar | guaranda | julio moreno |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Ivan Sache, 15 November 2014

See also:


The Parish of Julio Moreno is a subdivision of Guaranda Canton (Bolívar province). Composed of the settlements of Catanaguan and Espino, the parish is named for Dr. Julio Enrique Moreno Peñaherrera (1879-1952).
The parish was established from parts of the parishes of Santa Fe and Guanajo. Juan Elías Calero required from his brother Miguel Calero the separation from Santa Fe. They set up a commission that drafted a proposal of establishment of a new parish. The lawyer Antonio Vadillo recommended to submit the proposal to the Minister of Government, Julio Enrique Moreno Peñaherrera. The parish of Julio Moreno was established by Ministerial Agreement No. 81 of 1 February 1929, published on 1 May 1929 in the Official Register, No. 13.
Ivan Sache, 15 November 2014

The Flag

The flag of Julio Moreno, designed by Gonzalo Mazon, is divided yellow-green by a white descending diagonal stripe charged with 14 blue stars. Yellow is a symbol of sun rising and new morning. Green is a symbol of the productivity of the fields and of the fertility of the soil. White is a symbol of purity and nobleness. The stars represent the 14 settlements forming the parish.
Source: - Parish website
Ivan Sache, 15 November 2014