This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Cotopaxi Province (Ecuador)

Provincia de Cotopaxi

Last modified: 2018-11-17 by zoltán horváth
Keywords: ecuador | cotopaxi | sierra |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of La Maná] [Flag of La Maná] images by Ivan Sache, 7 September 2018

See also:



Cotopaxi is a province in central Ecuador in Sierra region. Capital is Latacunga.
Željko Heimer, 15 July 1996

Cotopaxi is one of the provinces of Ecuador. The capital is Latacunga. The province contains the Cotopaxi Volcano, an intermittent volcano with a height of 19,388 feet. The province is divided into 7 cantons.
Jens Pattke, 3 October 2008


Red over blue is the correct flag.
Jaume Ollé , 8 September 1996

Flag and Coat of Arms could be seen at
Jarig Bakker, 26 January 2001

The flag of Cotopaxi province, adopted in July 1972, is composed of two equal stripes, the upper, red, and the lower, blue. In the center is placed the province's coat of arms.
Province website
Ivan Sache, 7 September 2018

Previously Reported Two WRONG Flags

[Flag of Cotopaxi] image by António Martins-Tuválkin, 31 December 2017
flag according to W. Smith (insecure)

[Flag of Cotopaxi] image by Jaume Ollé

Coat of Arms

image from, located by Jarig Bakker, 26 January 2001

The coat of arms of Cotopaxi province, adopted on 19 July 1954, was designed by Leonardo Tejada Zambrano, an artist from Latacunga. The shield is surmounted by volcano Cotopaxi, superimposed with a scroll inscribed with the province's name and year of creation of the coat of arms. In the center of the quartered shield is placed a sun, designed with pre-Hispanic features, with the text "os encargo este territorio", a Spanish translation of Huayna Cápac's "llactata cunani". From the sun emerge four stripes argent representing the four main compass directions. The upper quarter shows on a field gules (red) seven towers representing the seven cantons composing the province. The upper right quarter shows on a field azure a tree and three white fesses wavy, which represent the resources of the province: forest, water, mines and other. The lower left quarter shows on a field azure a garb of wheat, representing agriculture. The upper right quarter shows on a field gules a bull, representing cattle-breeding. The shield is surrounded by lambrequins and a golden cartouche with a complex border.
Province website
Ivan Sache, 7 September 2018