This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Province of Málaga (Andalusia, Spain)

Last modified: 2017-02-04 by ivan sache
Keywords: málaga |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of the Province of Málaga - Image by Ivan Sache, 4 February 2017

See also:

Presentation of the Province of Málaga

The Province of Málaga (1,652,999 inhabitants in 2013, therefore the 6th most populous province in Spain; 7,308 sq. km) is located in central southern Andalusia.

Ivan Sache, 28 June 2009

Symbols of the Province of Málaga

The flag of the Province of Málaga (photo, photo, photo, photo, photo, photo) is white with a blue border, in width 1/8 of the flag's hoist, and the provincial coat of arms in the center.
The flag was designed in January 1978, based on the registration flag of the Maritime Province of Málaga. Neither the flag nor the arms were officially registered.
[Provincial website]

The coat of arms of the Province of Málaga is divided into two quarters.
The left (dexter) quarter is made of the municipal arms of Málaga, with the field azure instead of gules.
The right (sinister) quarter, added "at the time of the Republic", features 12 horizontal stripes, in turn red and yellow, representing the 12 judicial parties that form the province (Málaga excluded).
[Provincial website]

Ivan Sache, 4 February 2017