This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

La Victoria (Municipality, Andalusia, Spain)

Last modified: 2016-05-31 by ivan sache
Keywords: la victoria |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of La Victoria - Image from the Símbolos de Córdoba website, 17 September 2015

See also:

Presentation of La Victoria

The municipality of La Victoria (2,385 inhabitants in 2013; 2,000 ha) is located 30 km south of Córdoba.

Ivan Sache, 17 September 2015

Symbols of La Victoria

The flag and arms of La Victoria, adopted on 23 April 1996 by the Municipal Council and validated on 29 July 1997 by the Royal Academy of Córdoba, are prescribed by Decree No. 259, adopted on 4 November 1997 by the Government of Andalusia and published on 27 November 1997 in the official gazette of Andalusia, No. 138, p. 14,064 (text). This was confirmed by a Resolution adopted on 30 November 2004 by the Directorate General of the Local Administration and published on 20 December 2004 in the official gazette of Andalusia, No. 246, pp. 28,986-29,002 (text).
The symbols are prescribed as follows:

Flag: Rectangular, in proportions 11:18, red with a yellow saltire. In the center is placed the local coat of arms.
Coat of arms: Per fess, 1. Gules a sun or inscribed with "CHARITAS" in letters sable, 2. Or a Roman swing plow sable. The shield surmounted by a Royal crown closed.

The coat or arms was designed by Juan José Antequera Luengo.
The writing "CHARITAS" (Charity) is one of the symbol of the Order of Minims, also known as "of the Victory" ("de la Victoria"), which established in the 16th century a workshop (Victoria Vieja) subsequently revamped into an oil mill The swing plough recalls that the settlement was founded as an agricultural colony.
[Símbolos de las Entidades Locales de Andalucía. Córdoba (PDF file)]

Ivan Sache, 17 September 2015