This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Laguna Dalga (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2015-01-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: laguna dalga | león |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Laguna Dalga - Image by Antonio Gutiérrez (VexiLeón website), 24 March 2011

See also:

Presentation of Laguna Dalga

The municipality of Laguna Dalga (741 inhabitants in 2010; 3,841 ha; municipal website) is located in the south of León Province, 40 km of León. The municipality is made of the villages of Laguna Dalga (capital), San Pedro de las Dueñas, Santa Cristina del Páramo and Soguillos del Páramo.

Laguna Dalga is named for a pond (laguna) but the exact origin of "dalga", either as hidalga ("noble") or agua ("water"), is not sure. The village was mentioned for the first time in 1153 in a donation made by King Alfonso VII to Count Ponce Minerva. In 1365, Peter I transferred Laguna Dalga to the León Council, which incorporated it in its alfoz (group of villages).

Ivan Sache, 24 March 2011

Symbols of Laguna Dalga

The flag and arms of Laguna Dalga are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 26 February 1999 by the Municipal Council, signed on 21 July 1999 by the Mayor, and published on 3 August 1999 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 148, p. 7,920 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular flag, with proportions 2:3, made of a white field with a red triangle with vertices in the upper and lower hoist and midpoint of the fly, charged with a white helmet.
Coat of arms: Gules a church argent manteled argent dexter a lion rampant gules sinister a helmet of the same, in base waves argent and azure. The shield surmounted with a Royal crown closed.

Ivan Sache, 24 March 2011