This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Turcia (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2015-01-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: turcia | león |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Turcia - Image by Antonio Gutiérrez (VexiLeón website), 8 February 2011

See also:

Presentation of Turcia

The municipality of Turcia (1,167 inhabitants in 2009; 3,199 ha) is located in the center of León Province, 30 km of León. The municipality is made of the villages of Armellada, Gavilanes, Palazuelo de Órbigo and Turcia (capital).

Armellada is the birth place of Friar Cesáreo de Armellada (1908-1996), a Capuchin monk who spent most of his life in Venezuela. Friar Cesáreo was sent in 1936 to the region of Gran Sabana, where he settled in 1944 among the Pemones natives. Known as the "Padre Indio" (Indian Father), he authored several publications on the Pemón language and culture. In 1968, Friar Cesáreo was appointed Director of the Center for Native Languages of the Universidad Católica Andrés Bello (UCAB).

Ivan Sache, 8 February 2011

Symbols of Turcia

The flag and arms of Turcia are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 22 June 2000 by the Municipal Council, signed on 16 January 2001 by the Mayor and published on 30 January 2001 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 21, p. 1,837 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular, with proportions 2:3, made of four triangles formed by the flag's diagonals, at hoist blue, on top white, at fly green and on bottom yellow. In the middle of the flag is placed the municipal coat of arms.
Coat of arms: Quarterly per saltire, 1. and 4. Argent a wave azure, 2. and 3. Vert three spikes or. The shield surmounted with a Royal crown closed.

Ivan Sache, 8 February 2011