This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Southern Nationals, Nationalities and Peoples' Regional State (Ethiopia)


Last modified: 2023-09-09 by bruce berry
Keywords: southern nationals | nationalities and peoples regional state | ethiopia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by António Martins-Tuválkin, 16 July 2017

See also:


The Southern Nations, Nationalities and Peoples' Region (often abbreviated as SNNPR) is one of the nine ethnic divisions (kililoch) of Ethiopia.  It was formed from the merger of the former Regions 7-11 following the 1994 elections. Its capital is Awasa.

The SNNPR borders Kenya to the south, the Ilemi Triangle (a region claimed by Ethiopia, Kenya, and South Sudan) to the southwest, South Sudan to the west, the Ethiopian state of Gambela to the northwest, and the state of Oromiya to the north and east.
Bruce Berry, 12 Nov 2010

Part of the SNNPR was incorporated into newly created Sidama Regional State on 18 June 2020 following a referendum in the Sidama Zone in 2019.
Bruce Berry, 06 June 2021

The new Ethiopian Regional States of South Ethiopia and Central Ethiopia have been created (August 2023) which were previously part of the SNNPR.
Bruce Berry, 30 Aug 2023

Flag of Southern Nations, Nationalities and Peoples' Regional State (SNNPR)

The image above is according to Flagmaster nr. 93 (Spring 1999) [fLm] which shows the flag of the SNNPR as being three equal horizontal stripes of blue, white and red, with the State emblem in the centre.  Other sources show a different flag ratio, and variations in the colour and shape of the central emblem.
Jaume Ollé, 22 Oct 2000