This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

QualityCoast Programme (European Union)

Last modified: 2023-06-10 by ivan sache
Keywords: qualitycoast |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of QualityCoast - Image by Ivan Sache, 1 June 2009

See also:

Presentation of QualityCoast

QualityCoast aims to establish a world wide network of coastal communities that share the same values and practices on sustainable development holistically integrating their natural, cultural and social values and that at the same time maintain high standards in the quality of their tourism. It has been developed by EUCC (The Coastal and Marine Union) in a European Union project involving 21 partners from 11 countries. EUCC is one of the largest coastal expert networks in the world.

The QualityCoast Award is rewarded to coastal communities that are proving and presenting good overall sustainable performance; providing transparent information to visitors; and planning for future improvements. It is an independent certification of the performance of the coastal community and its tourist product which makes use of 20 QualityCoast criteria. Information about these criteria is provided by the community on the entire territory of the community. In addition to the Award, communities can receive specific recognition in three categories: Nature, Environment and Socio-Economic. Communities that have received an Award have the status of QualityCoast Destination, a status which is reviewed every two years.

If the QualityCoast Award is granted, a Certificate of Excellence will also be attributed in those categories (nature, environment, and socio- economic) in which the applicant gained 80% of the maximum points available for the criteria within these categories. Such excellence will be symbolized by a starfish that will be integrated in the QualityCoast banners (if ordered).
[QualityCoast Awards 2009-'10 brochure]

In 2009, QualityCoast Awards have been rewarded to twelve places:
- Cyprus: Kouklia;
- Italy: Noto (Sicily);
- Netherlands: Ameland, Zandvoort, Noordwijk, Katwijk, Goedereede and Schouwen-Duiveland;
- Portugal: Aveiro and Torres Vedras;
- Spain: Calvià (Mallorca, Balearic Islands) and Southern Fuerteventura (Canary Islands).

Ivan Sache, 1 June 2009

QualityCoast Award flag

The flag of QualityCoast (photo, photo, photo, photo) is yellow over blue, the division being an ascending curve starting c. from the lower fourth of the hoist and reaching the upper right corner. The blue field is charged with the yellow silhouette of a jumping dolphin, while "QualityCoast" is written in blue on the yellow field. The flag is clearly derived from the logo of EUCC, only differing by the emblem and writing.

Ivan Sache, 1 June 2009