This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Landes (Department, France)

Last modified: 2024-04-27 by olivier touzeau
Keywords: landes |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 40
Region: Nouvelle-Aquitaine (Aquitaine until 2014)
Traditional province: Guyenne and Gascony
Bordering departments: Gers, Gironde, Lot-et-Garonne, Pyrénées-Atlantiques

Area: 9,243 km2
Population (2016): 405,010 inhabitants

Préfecture: Mont-de-Marsan
Sous-préfecture: Dax
Subdivisions: 2 arrondissements, 15 cantons, 327 municipalities.

The department is named after the region of Landes ("Moors"). In June 2006, the General Council proposed to change the name of the department to "Landes de Gascogne".
On 5 February 1850, the municipality of Labastide-d'Armagnac was transferred from the department of Gers to the department of Landes. On 1 June 1857, the municipality of Saint-Esprit was transferred from the department of Landes to the department of Pyrénées-Inférieures (today Pyrénées-Atlantiques).

Ivan Sache, 11 April 2019

Flag of Landes

The services of the Departmental Council of Landes confirmed on 15 April 2019 that the Council does not use any flag, neither did the former General Council.

Olivier Touzeau, 16 April 2019