This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Yvelines (Department, France): Intermunicipal Authorities

Last modified: 2019-04-22 by ivan sache
Keywords: yvelines |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

  • Former Intermunicipal Authorities

    See also:

    Index of the Intermunicipal Authorities

    • Communauté urbaine (1)
      • Grand Paris Seine et Oise
    • Communautés d'agglomération (4)
    • Communautés de communes (5)
      • Cœur d'Yvelines
      • Gally Mauldre
      • Haute Vallée de Chevreuse
      • Pays Houdanais
      • Portes de l'Île-de-France


    [Flag]         [Flag]

    Flag of Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, two versions - Images by Ivan Sache, 24 May 2015

    The Communauté d'agglomération de Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines (CASQY, locally known as SQY, pronounced "sky"; 114,419 inhabitants in 2011; 6,924 ha; website) groups the seven municipalities of Élancourt, Guyancourt, La Verrière, Magny-les-Hameaux, Montigny-le-Bretonneux, Trappes and Voisins-le-Bretonneux.
    Established in its present legal form in 2004, Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines was one of the five villes nouvelles (new towns) designed in the 1970s to organize the territories around Paris that faced a demographic and economical boom:
    - Évry (1969);
    - Cergy-Pontoise (1969);
    - Marne-la-Vallée (1972);
    - Melun-Sénart (1973);
    - Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines (1970).

    Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines is named for the department of Yvelines and for a chapel, disappeared long ago, dedicated to St. Quentin of Amiens, an early Christian saint particularly venerated in the north of France. The chapel was one of the several places where pilgrims could invoke the saint's relics.

    The flag of Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines (photo) is white with the logo (or, more exactly, the compact version of the official logo) of the intermunicipal authority.
    The flag hoisted in front of the hoisted in front of the National Velodrome of Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines has the URL of the website written in black letter beneath the logo. spelled "Saint-Quentin-en-".

    Ivan Sache, 24 May 2015

    Former intermunicipal Authorities

    Deux Rives de Seine


    Flag of CA2RS - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 30 May 2017

    CA2RS (90,107 inhabitants in 2011, 9,000 ha) was established in 2005 by the municipalities of Andrésy, Carrières-sous-Poissy, Chanteloup-les-Vignes, Chapet, Triel-sur-Seine, Verneuil-sur-Seine, and Vernouillet. They were joined in 2012 by the municipalities of Médan, Les Alluets-le-Roi, Morainvilliers, Orgeval, and Villennes-sur-Seine.
    CA2SR was dissolved on 31 Decembre 2015, following the creation of the Communaut√© urbaine du Grand Paris Seine et Oise (made of the former Communautés d'agglomération Mde antes-en-Yvelines, des Deux-Rives-de-Seine, Poissy-Achères-Conflans, Seine-et-Vexin, and of the former Communautés de communes des Coteaux-du-Vexin and Seine-Mauldre).

    The authority was named for the tow banks (rives) of river Seine. The municipalities are distributed as follows - municipalities marked with an asterisk are not located directly on the Seine:
    - Left (south) bank: Les Alluets-le-Roi*, Chapet*, Médan, Morainvilliers*, Orgeval*, Verneuil-sur-Seine, Vernouillet*, Villennes-sur-Seine;
    - Right (north) bank: Andrésy, Carrières-sous-Poissy, Chanteloup-les-Vignes*, Triel.

    The flag of CA2RS (photo) was green with the white version of its logo.

    Olivier Touzeau & Ivan Sache, 5 June 2017