This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ogooué-Ivindo Province (Gabon)

Last modified: 2019-08-06 by bruce berry
Keywords: ogooue ivindo | gabon |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016

See also:


Ogooué-Ivindo Province is named after two rivers - the Ogooué river and its most  important tributary, the Ivindo river. It covers an area of 46,075 km² and  has 63,000 inhabitants (2013). The provincial capital is Makokou.
Ogooué-Ivindo is divided into 4 departments:
- Ivindo (Makokou)
- Lope (Booue)
- Mvoung (Ovan)
- Zadie (Mekambo).
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016

Description of the flag

The provincial flag, as seen during the 2016 inauguration of the President of Gabon, is white with the provincial coat-of-arms occupying 4/5 of the height in the centre.

According to Heraldry of the World, the bees symbolise the Pays des Abeilles (Land of the bees), an area by the river Ogooué. The silver lines stand for the confluence of the Ogooué and Ivindo rivers.
Olivier Touzeau, 29 Dec 2016