This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Bolton Metropolitan Borough (England)

Last modified: 2020-08-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: bolton metropolitan borough |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Bolton] image by Valentin Poposki, 20 June 2020

See also:

Description of the Flag

The Metropolitan Borough of Bolton (Bolton Council) is part of the Greater Manchester Metropolitan County. It was created under the Local Government Act 1972, and became effective on 01.04.1974. The new borough was created by abolishing eight local government entities - Bolton County Borough and seven local governments of the County of Lancashire: Blackrod Urban District, Farnworth Municipal Borough, Horwich Urban District, Kearsley Urban District, Little Lever Urban District, southern parts of Turton Urban District, and Westhoughton Urban District.

As far as I can find, there is no flag for the Bolton MB, although there was discussion in the council about that question in 2018. There was mention the flag of the former Bolton County Borough as possible solution and councillor John Walsh gave a description of it: "I think it's a great idea. We used to have a flag in the late 70s. It was a white flag with a blue emblem, which is the centre piece of the coat of arms, a crown with an arrow through it, which is actually a pun on the word 'Bolton'."

The Bolton Metropolitan Borough has three civil parishes with Town Council status: Blackrod, Horwich, and Westoughton, the rest of the territory is unparished area.
Valentin Poposki, 20 June 2020

Coat of arms

[Bolton] image located by Valentin Poposki, 20 June 2020