This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Croatia: County flags

Last modified: 2014-09-20 by ivan sache
Keywords: croatia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Adoption process of county flags

As of September 2007 the Commission (today within the Central State Office for Administration) approved the coat of arms and flags of all the twenty counties.

The coats of arms of the 20 counties (photo) are set in the assembly hall of the former House of the Counties (Upper House of the Parliement). In 2001, the Parliament became unicameral and the House of the Counties was abolished, so this assembly hall Josip Šokčević Hall) is used today for congressional purposes. The coat of arms of the Sisak-Moslavina County is different from the one actually used by the County - by not having the crown and with some minor differences in drawing - this was the only coat of arms today that had not been officially approved by the central authorities.

All the county flags were on display (photo) during the Fair of the Counties held at the Zagreb Fair, 19-23 September 2012.

Željko Heimer, 8 June 2013

Numeric list of counties

  1. Zagreb County (Zagrebačka županija)
  2. Krapina-Zagorje County (Krapinsko-zagorska županija)
  3. Sisak-Moslavina County (Sisačko-moslavačka županija)
  4. Karlovac County (Karlovačka županija)
  5. Varaždin County (Varaždinska županija)
  6. Koprivnica-Križevci County (Koprivničko-kričevačka županija)
  7. Bjelovar-Bilogora County (Bjelovarsko-bilogorska županija)
  8. Primorje-Gorski Kotar County (Primorsko-goranska županija)
  9. Lika-Senj County (Ličko-senjska županija)
  10. Virovitica-Podravina County (Virovitičko-podravska županija)
  11. Požega-Slavonia County (Požeško-slavonska županija)
  12. Brod-Posavina County (Brodsko-posavska županija)
  13. Zadar County (Zadarska županija)
  14. Osijek-Baranja County (Osječko-baranjska županija)
  15. Šibenik-Knin County (Šibensko-kninska županija)
  16. Vukovar-Srijem County (Vukovarsko-srijemska županija)
  17. Split-Dalmatia County (Splitsko-dalmatinska županija)
  18. Istria County (Istarska županija / Regione Istria)
  19. Dubrovnik-Neretva County (Dubrovačko-neretvanska županija)
  20. Međimurje County (Međimurska županija)

  21. Town of Zagreb (Grad Zagreb)

Alphabetic list of counties