This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Dadra and Nagar Haveli (India)

Last modified: 2021-03-06 by ian macdonald
Keywords: india | dadra and nagar haveli |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Status of the region

[Dadra and Nagar Haveli] image by Željko Heimer, 6 November 2001

The liberators soon [probably August 1954] declared Dadra and Nagar Haveli an independent country – the “Free Dadra and Nagar Haveli” (Mukta Dadra and Nagar Haveli). They formed a government – “Varishtha Panchayat of Free Dadra and Nagar Haveli” – to govern the territory and adopted the Indian national flag and anthem as their country’s flag and national anthem.

R V Mudras was appointed as the first “Administrator of Free Dadra and Nagar Haveli,” the head of the government.

...change came in June 1961. The Varishtha Panchayat seeing the failure of India’s diplomatic efforts with Portugal, voted to accede to the Republic of India. K G Badlani, a civil servant from India, was appointed the “Prime Minister of Free Dadra and Nagar Haveli” by the Varishta Panchayat on August 11, 1962 to sign the accession treaty with India. Badlani was the Prime Minister for only a day and ceased to be so after Dadra and Nagar Haveli became part of India after the Tenth Amendment of the Constitution of India.

Jaume Ollé, 13 February 2021