This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Jaipur - Indian Princely State

Last modified: 2021-05-29 by ian macdonald
Keywords: indian princely state | jaipur | sun |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Jaipur] image by Jorge Candeias

See also:

The flag of 1877

[Jaipur - flag of 1877] image by Jorge Candeias

Jaipur - also Jeypore. Former Indian state, East Rajputana, NW India, now in Rajasthan state; 15.610 square miles, capital: Jaipur. Founded in 12th century (probably 1128) by Rajput chief from Gwalior; furnished famous generals to Mogul emperors; came under British protection 1818; title: maharaja.
Jarig Bakker, 11 November 1998

Ziggioto (1998) reports "The most ancient flag of Jaipur (or Jeypore), capital of the present state of Rajasthan, was a triangular white standard with the figure of the "kuchnar"-tree (the Bauhinia variegata) , which figured on the flag of Dasaratha, the father of Rama (sec. VII). Man Singh had in 1630 a five-colored flag (pancaranga). It was triangular, colored red - white - yellow - green - blue. The five colors celebrated the victory over five Pathan chiefs. The founder of Faipur, Jai Singh II (1699-1744), carried a similar banner, but colored red - yellow - white - green - blue; moreover he had a triangular flag with the same colors, but smaller. In 1818 Mohan Singh (1816-'19) retook Man Singh's flag, but without the knot at the end. In 1877 Ram Singh (1835-'80), on the occasion of the Assembly of princes, who attended the the coronation of Queen Victoria (as Empress of India), had a five-striped flag red - green - white - blue - yellow, with in the center of the two first stripes a radiant yellow sun (alluding to the solar descent of the Kachhwaha princes). That flag lasted till 1922, when the Pancaranga became a flag like the one  used by Jai Singh, but in rectangular form, which lasted till 1946."
Jarig Bakker, 13 May 2002

According to Filcher (1984), "Drapeau et Armoiries des Etats Princiers de l'Empire des Indies", a red over green bicolor with 5-color canton came into use after Indian independence [if my weak attempt at reading French is correct]... "A la suite de l'Independance de l'UNION INDIENNE, le drapeau fut change et se constitua en deux bandes horizontales d'egale largeur avec sur celle superieure en canton, les cinque couleurs: rouge, jaune, bleu, blanc et vert, suivie d'un quartier rouge, l'inferieure de couleur vert..." [note: accent marks missing in my transcription]

According to a website on the history of the Rajasthan legislature at Jaipur did continue its existence as a distinct entity for a short while after joining India in 1947, so it seems at least plausible that this flag was indeed used for awhile after Indian independence.
Ned Smith, 14 May 2002

All over the city of Jaipur there are panchrangas, the horizontal five-color-flags used by the rajputs, hoisted in different shapes, some with edges of golden fringes, and in different sequences of colors. The colors however are those, which are depicted above.

Alternative colour arrangements

[Jaipur] image by Klaus-Michael Schneider, 28 May 2010

On top of the city-palace nowadays there is hoisted a rectangular version of the panchranga in the following order: red over yellow over white over green over blue (according to your FIAV –Code it is R_Y_W_G+_B+). This can be proved by own photos and photos in current picture-postcards. In the Jaipur Mail-Museum, at the backdoor of the GPO there is a light blue pillar-box, showing a different order of colors. It is possible, that every Maharaja of Jaipur preferred and hoisted a favourite order of colors. The stripes are not separated by black lines. It is remarkable, that the strips of yellow and white, which are corresponding with metal-colours gold and silver according to European heraldry, are direct neighbours within the flag.
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 13 April 2005

A different flag for the State of Jaipur is shown at, where the stripes are red-yellow-white-green(or possibly blue)-black. The same flag is shown on the coat of arms on the same page.
Valentin Poposki, 5 November 2006

There are several websites showing actual pictures ( , and ) of the flag of Jaipur, and the order of colors from top to bottom is: red, yellow, white, green, blue.
Esteban Rivera, 25 October 2009

Maharani of Jaipur

[Maharani of Jaipur] image by Thanh-Tâm Lê, 28 December 2013

A few days ago, French public television channel France 2 broadcast a programme about Gayatri Devi, the former Maharani of Jaipur. Towards the end, a flag was shown floating over her Lily Pool residence. I uploaded a few snapshots here: The whole programme can be watched online for a few more days:,94013096.html and the flag can be seen for a few seconds, starting from 1:25:43.

Does anyone here know what this flag stood for? In the comments, it is referred to as a flag of arms of Jaipur.
Thanh-Tâm Lê, 28 December 2013

The dark figure in the fly end seems to be a Garuda. The canton displays a sun, which might signify, that the Rajas in Jaipur belonged to a Suurya Clan (there are suurya (sun), chandra (moon) and agni (fire) clans). The white animal seems to be a horse with seven heads, probably being a variant of Suurya's chariot being pulled by seven horses. And interesting, gaayatrii, together with saavitrii and saraswatii are the three goddesses presiding at the Gaayatrii Mantra, a prayer performed thrice a day and presiding each over one part of Vedas and over one special fire sacrifice. The Mantra is dedicated to the savitRi aspect of suurya, i.e. the sun before sunrise.
Klaus-Michael Schneider
, 30 December 2013

Tazimi Thikana

  • Achrol
  • Ajairajpura
  • Baghera
  • Baniyana
  • Barwara
  • Chomu
  • Daanta
  • Dangarthal
  • Dhula
  • Diggi
  • Doongri
  • Dooni
  • Dudu
  • Garh taknet
  • Gijgarh
  • Gudha (chander ji)
  • Guhala
  • Jobner
  • Kaalwaar
  • Kalwara
  • Kanota
  • Karansar
  • Khaatu
  • Kheda
  • Madhogarh
  • Mahaar
  • Mandaa
  • Marwaa
  • Mehndwaas
  • Mundota
  • Nailaa
  • Natwaara
  • Padampura
  • Padli
  • Saakoon
  • Saali
  • Saantha
  • Saawarda
  • Samode
  • Shahpura
  • Sheopur
  • Siras
  • Uniara

Shekhawati States


This is the best map of the SHEKHAWATI FEDERATION - SHEKHAWATI NIZAMAT which I can come up with. The table of the federation can be found here. I have not been able to find an official map which pre-dates 1949. Shekhawati is situated in Northern Jaipur, Rajasthan, the map is based upon the modern Districts of Sikar (the largest), Jhunjhunu and the Kot - Putli Pargana of Jaipur proper.

You have heard of KHANDELA, (No 12 = Junior, No. 13 = Senior) the modern map places it in a Tehsil of the same name in a compact block of territory, but before 1949, it was spread over a wide area in 15 enclaves ( = 2/5ths shares) for the Junior and 11 enclaves (3/5ths shares) for the Senior. Both had Khandela Town as its capital, the Northern part = Junior, and the Southern part = Senior.

The map is the best indicator for those of you looking for Flags and Coats of Arms of these 36 Thikanas and Jagirs. There is a problem with the boundary between KHETRI and BISSAU, both at times have claimed the former Territory of Jhunjhunu Kingdom. There is one territory without a number, situated South of 17, 18, 19 along the Sikar border, this should be marked 35 = TAIEN.
John D McMeekin, 8 December 2013

All the 34 Shekhawati States (subject to Jaipur, India) had flags:

Danta Jagir
Kasli Jagir
Khachariawas Thikana
Khatu Jagir
Munduru Jagir
Shahpura (Ex-Mohanpur)