This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Alps-Adriatic Working Community

(Austria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Slovenia, Switzerland)

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: alps-adriatic working community | puzzle | austria | croatia | germany | hungary | italy | slovenia | switzerland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Alps-Adriatic Working Community]
Flag of the Alps-Adriatic Working Community - Image by Željko Heimer, 23 July 2005

See also:

Members of the Alps-Adriatic Working Community

Origin and purpose of the Alps-Adriatic Working Community

Quoting the Alps-Adriatic Working Community website (page no longer online):

Twenty years ago, more precisely on the 20 November 1978, which up until that time had been an informal bond of friendship between border regions was officially transformed in Venice to a community that intended to go back to the tradition and a history that had taken their course together.
Placing their signatures on the agreement the representatives of the Republics not only formally sanctioned the birth of the Alps Adriatic Working Community, but also made an important step towards a new future for Europe.
This land, for which all the Länder, the regions, the republics and the counties of the Working Community had participated altogher, intends to be a contribution - however modest - to a better reciprocal understanding between the men who live here, in the heart of Europe.
Once again, one wishes to demonstrate that the differences in language and in political or social structure don't necessarily have to form a contrast or build a barrier, but can instead be elements that integrate.
The reason for the formation of this land is always the same - to take another step forward in understanding, in friendship and in peace.

Ivan Sache, 23 July 2005