This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Pacific Alliance

Alianza del Pacífico

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: pacific alliance | pan-american | international organizations |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Pacific Alliance flag]
image by Zoltan Horvath, 08 February 2014

See also:


"The Alianza del Pacífico (Pacific Alliance) is a Latin American trade bloc, with some features of further integration (like migration, inter industrial trade, etc.) It currently comprises 50% of Latin American exports. On 28 April 2011, former president of Peru, Alan García organized a meeting with the presidents of Chile, Colombia, and Mexico. This group of political leaders issued the Declaracion de Lima, a statement of intent to establish the Pacific Alliance. The initial goal of the alliance was to further free trade with "a clear orientation towards  Asia", and economic integration. One of the results of this economic integration is the MILA (Mercado Integrado Latinoamericano. or Latin American Integrated Market) established on May 30, 2011, which is a program that integrates the stock exchange markets of Chile, Colombia, and Peru. The three founding members are the Lima Stock Exchange, the Santiago Stock Exchange, and the Colombia Stock Exchange. On September 2009, an agreement was signed by the Colombia, Lima, and Santiago Exchanges, to create a unique market, with the objective to unite the equity trading platforms and in this way concentrate a bigger number of issuers, investors, and intermediaries. The formal ceremony was held in the location of BVL in Lima. The MILA started officially operations on May 30th, 2011 as the second biggest market of Latin America in market capitalization with US$ 720 billion, and the third largest market in trading volume in the region with US$87,000 million a year."
-  ,
-  and

The Summits are (a graphic historical summary can be seen here.)
I Summit 2011 Lima,
II Summit 2011 Mérida,
III Summit 2012 through virtual media (something not very common in these types of organizations),
IV Summit 2012 Paranal,
V Summit 2012 Cádiz,
VI Summit 2013 Santiago de Chile,
VII Summit 2013 Cali,
VIII Summit 2014 Cartagena (official Flickr website)
Its members are:
Chile, Colombia, Peru, Mexico, Costa Rica (applied for Membership on February 10, 2014)
For additional information go to: Alianza del Pacífico (official website)
Esteban Rivera, 15 February 2014

The Flag

It is a white horizontal flag, with the logo in the middle and below "Alianza del" and below "Pacífico" in black letters. This flag is located in the hall preceding the Centro de Convenciones de Cartagena, chosen to be the venue for the VIIII summit (February 8-10, 2014). The colors represent the flags of its members in this spiral: starting from the top, clockwise: yellow, blue, red for Colombia, then blue, red, white for Chile, then red, white, red for Peru, and red, white, green for Mexico.
The flag is seen here.
(Source: (between the flags of Colombia and Mexico).
Esteban Rivera, 15 February 2014