This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites


Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: eumetsat | international organization |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Zoltan Horvath, 22 October 2013

See also:

About the organization

The EUMETSAT (European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites) is an intergovernmental organization created through an international convention agreed by a current total of 27 European Member States: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Romania, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, and the United Kingdom. These States fund the EUMETSAT programs and are the principal users of the systems. EUMETSAT also has 4 Cooperating States. Cooperation agreements with Iceland, Lithuania, Bulgaria and Serbia have entered into force. The convention establishing EUMETSAT was opened for signature in 1983 and entered into force in 19 June 1986.
EUMETSAT's primary objective is to establish, maintain and exploit European systems of operational meteorological satellites. EUMETSAT is responsible for the launch and operation of the satellites and for delivering satellite data to end-users as well as contributing to the operational monitoring of climate and the detection of global climate changes.
The activities of EUMETSAT contribute to a global meteorological satellite observing system coordinated with other space-faring nations. EUMETSAT is not part of the European Union.
Zoltan Horvath, 22 October 2013

The flag

Image of its flag. 
Zoltan Horvath, 22 October 2013