This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lake Chad Basin Commission

Commission du Bassin du Lac Tchad, LCBC/CBLT

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: international organizations | lake chad basin commission | lake chad basin | lake chad | commission | lcbc | cblt |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[UEMOA flag]
image by Olivier Touzeau, 18 December 2014

See also:


The Lake Chad Basin Commission (LCBC or CBLT, Commission du Bassin du Lac Tchad, in French) is an intergovernmental organization that oversees water and other natural resource usage in the basin. The organization's secretariat is located in N'Djamena, Chad. Hydrologically, the Chad Basin (not all of which feeds Lake Chad) includes eight countries, which, in descending area of land, included are: Chad, Niger, the Central African Republic, Nigeria, Sudan, Algeria, and Libya.
Cameroon, Niger, Nigeria and Chad (the four countries directly containing parts of Lake Chad and its wetlands) signed the Fort Lamy (today N'Djamena) Convention on May 22, 1964, which created the Lake Chad Basin Commission. The Central African Republic joined in 1996, and Libya joined in 2008.
Official website :
Olivier Touzeau, 18 December 2014

The Flag

The flag ot he LCBC is orange with the seal of the organization in the center.
Olivier Touzeau, 18 December 2014