This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website


Southern African Regional Police Chief Council Organisation

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: sarpcco | map |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image located by Mason Kaye

See also:

SARPCCO, the Southern African Regional Police Chief Council Organisation is an official forum comprising all the police chiefs from Southern Africa. SARPCCO was established in 1995 at a conference of Police Chiefs at Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe, and it was decided that the Council of Police Chiefs should meet at least once a year. A Secretariat, comprising officers from the member countries, has been formed as the permanent administrative and technical body through which SARPCCO is operating. The newly created Interpol Sub-Regional Bureau in Harare is utilised for this purpose. INTERPOL provides the means of effective communication between the member countries as well as performing all administrative tasks originating from the operation of SARPCCO. The member countries of SARPCCO are Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The official logo of SARPCCO has a map outline of Southern Africa, to show solidarity and unity amongst member states, flanked by the flags of member states, craftily webbed to indicate absolute confidence and co-operation. Below is a dark blue ribbon with the letters SARPCCO in gold to show that order is one of the vital principles/functions of the police.

Source: SAVA Newsletter, August 31, 2000, p. 4 & 5
Mason Kaye, 7 July 2004