This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Euregio West/Nyugat Pannonia (Austria, Hungary)

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: euregio west/nyugat pannaonia | austria | hungary |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Euregio West Pannonia]
Flag of Euroregio West Pannonia - Image by Ivan Sache, 27 March 2004

See also:

Presentation of Euregio West/Nyugat Pannonia

Pannonia is a geographical area encompassing the plains of South-East Europe, that is modern Hungary, north of former Yugoslavia and west of modern Romania (Grand Robert de la Langue Française). Pannonia is watered by the Danube and was conquered by the Romans between 35 BC and 10. The epithet pannonicus is common in botanical Latin, and usually translated as "from Hungary" (Fournier, Les Quatre Flores de la France).The Euregio of West Pannonia is made of the state of Burgenland (Austria) and the counties of Györ-Moson-Sopron, Vas and Zala (Hungary).
West Pannonia has been a link between the mountains and the plains and between west and east for centuries if not milleniums (claiming it is "older than any other region in Europe" is meaningless). The region was divided by borders imposed by the Treaty of Trianon (4 June 1920) and later by the Iron Curtain. More recently, the first official contacts between Austria and Hungary took place in the 1970s. The Austro-Hungarian Territorial Developement and Planning Board was created in 1985. The direct precursor of the Euregio of West Pannonia is the Regional Council Along the Border, set up in 1992 by Burgenland and the counties of Györ-Moson-Sopron and Vas.
The agreement establishing of the Euregio of West Pannonia was signed on 7 October 1998 in Eisenstadt, the capital city of Burgenland by the Territorial Chairman of Burgenland and both Chairmen of the General Assemblies for the counties of Vas and Györ-Moson-Sopron. The county of Zala joined the Euregio in June 1999.
Source: Website of Euroregio West Pannonia
Ivan Sache, 27 March 2004

Flag of Euregio West/Nyugat Pannonia

A picture available on the website of Euroregio West Pannonia shows six vertical table flags, from left to right:

The flag of the Euregio West Pannonia is made of the logotype of the region on a white field with the name of the region below.
The logotype of the region is a blue rectangle with three intersecting light blue circles over it. The intersection of the three circles defines an area filled in yellow. The circles partially overlap the white field and end with a dot. EuRegio / WEST / NYUGAT / PANNONIA is written below the logotype. EuRegio is written in blue, the other words in light blue. The true logotype (that is not placed on the flag) is surrounded by a yellow background, which is omitted on the flag.
Source: Website of Euroregio West Pannonia
Ivan Sache & István Molnár, 27 March 2004