This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Anagni (Latium, Italy)

Comune di Anagni

Last modified: 2021-08-24 by rob raeside
Keywords: anagni | frosinone | latium |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


Anagni is a commune in Frosinone province, Latium, Italy. Called “The city of Popes” because Bonifacius VIII and other 6 medieval popes was born here.
An eagle standing on a lion is on the coat of arms of the ancient City of Anagni since the XII Century and this is proved by an ancient bas-relief into the Town Hall. The keys of St.Peter was hadded during XV Century to remember that 4 important Popes - Innocentius III, Gregorius IX, Alexander IV and Bonifatius VIII- was born in Anagni. The latin motto “Hernica saxa colunt quos dives Anagnia pascit” (=”the rich city of Anagni feeds who lives on the Ernici Mountains) was added in the same century. The coat of arms was decorated by the Imperial Crown and the Mantle during XVIII Century, immediately after the discovery, in Anagni’s country, of a “villa” that was the summer residence of the Roman Emperors Antoninus Pius, Marcus Aurelius, Commodus and Caracalla. Italian araldic laws allows the cities who was important at the time of Roman Empire to use in their coats of arms the initialism S.P.Q. (Senatus PopulusQue = Senate and People of, followed by the name of the city), that recalls the initialism S.P.Q.R. (Senatus PopulusQue Romanus = Senate and People of Rome). Obviously, S.P.Q.A. (= Senatus PopulusQue Anagninum) means Senate and People of Anagni.
Pierluigi Tamburrini, 4 August 2005

Coat of Arms

by Pierluigi Tamburrini, 4 August 2005