This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nyamira County (Kenya)

Last modified: 2019-08-06 by bruce berry
Keywords: nyamira | kenya |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Jens Pattke, 10 May 2015

See also:


Nyamira County is located in south-western Kenya in the former Nyanza Province. It was formerly part of Kisii County when Kisii County was a district.  Its capital and largest town is Nyamira.
Jens Pattke, 10 May 2015

Description of the flag

The symbolism of colours of the flag are:

1) Red: represents a people of action, the energetic youthful population, a people with love and passion;
2) White: meaning peace, purity and unity;
3) Green: represents life and the fertility of the land that is rich in agricultural potential; and
4) Yellow: represents joy, happiness, sunshine, intellect, wealth and friendship.  It also represents the readiness for industrial development.  It symbolizes cheerfulness and illumination.

The symbolism of the flag design is:

a) The six red stripes represent a people with;
1. Love;
2. Strength;
3. Energy;
4. Passion for success;
5. Courage for pursuit for liberty; and
6. Action.

b) The ripe banana in yellow jackets represents joy, happiness, optimism, enthusiasm and intellect. It is the most common food crop grown nearly in all households thereby providing food for humans and livestock. Its fruit, stem and jackets are used;
c) The five white stripes represents peace, love and unity;
d) The yellow disc represents the sun providing light and warmth to everyone. It also signifies a coin which is a symbol of wealth and prosperity; and
e) The dove symbolizes a sense of love, promise, humility and hope.


image sent by Jens Pattke, 10 May 2015


A county seal comprising the county coat-of-arms within a green ring containing the words "COUNTY GOVERNMENT OF NYAMIRA" and "County of Possibilities" has also been adopted.

Jens Pattke, 10 May 2015