This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Turkana County (Kenya)

Last modified: 2019-08-06 by bruce berry
Keywords: kenya | turkana |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Jens Pattke, 12 Dec 2015 See also:


Turkana County is located in the former Rift Valley Province of Kenya.  It is the largest and also the most north-western county, bordering Uganda to the west and South Sudan and Ethiopia (including the disputed Ilemi Triangle) in the north and north east and Lake Turkana to the east.
Jens Pattke, 12 Dec 2015

Description of the flag

The county flag is divided horizontally light blue (two-thirds) over brown (one-third).  In the centre of the flag is the county emblem in white.  In the bottom right hand corner is a diagonal green stripe, fimbriated in white. According to the county website, the symbolism of the colours is as follows:

Brown stands for Turkana’s land and heritage
Green stands for Turkana’s vegetation
Blue stands for Turkana’s water, the lake and underground aquifers
White stands for peace in Turkana.
Jens Pattke, 12 Dec 2015