This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Rojava (Kurdistan)

Last modified: 2024-06-22 by ian macdonald
Keywords: kurdistan | rojava | syria |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


See also:


Rojava ("the West"), also known as Western Kurdistan (Kurdish: Rojavayę Kurdistanę‎) or Syrian Kurdistan, is a de facto autonomous region originating in and consisting of three self-governing cantons in northern Syria: Afrin Canton, Jazira Canton and Kobanî Canton, and the unofficial Shahba region. In terms of governates of Syria, Rojava is formed of most of al-Hasakah Governorate, northern parts of Al-Raqqah Governorate and northern parts of Aleppo Governorate.

The region gained its autonomy in November 2013, as part of the ongoing Rojava conflict, establishing a society based on principles of direct democracy, gender equality, and sustainability. Rojava is unrecognized as autonomous by the government of Syria and is a participant in the Syrian Civil War. On 16 March 2016, the de facto administration of Rojava declared the establishment of a federal system of government as the Federation of Northern Syria – Rojava (Kurdish: Federasyona Bakurę Sűriyę – Rojava‎, Arabic: منطقة الإدارة الكردية في شمال سوريا‎‎)
Esteban Rivera, 21 September 2016

The Flag

The flag is seen here:

Its emblem is seen here:

For additional information go to the 2014 Constitution of the Rojava Cantons (semi official website):

Official Twitter account of the Economic Committee of the self-administration of Rojava:
Esteban Rivera, 21 September 2016