This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Mauritius Labour Party (Mauritius)

Last modified: 2015-07-28 by ian macdonald
Keywords: mauritius labour party | parti travailliste mauricien | key (white) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

MLP party flag
image by Ivan Sache, 06 Jul 2008,
after the model available on the MLP website

See also: External links:

About the flag

The emblem of the MLP is a red key on a white background, but the party uses a flag with reversed colours, that is a red flag with a white key. The flag can be seen on a photograph placed on the top of the frontpage of the party website. The writings placed above and below the key can be more easily “guessed” on a long video footage of the 2005 elections available on DailyMotion. The writing, in white capital letters, are, most probably, PARTI TRAVAILLISTE (top) and LABOUR PARTY (below).
Ivan Sache, 06 Jul 2008

About the party

The Mauritius Labour Party (MLP; in French, Parti travailliste mauricien) was founded on 23 February 1936 in Port Louis, on the model of the British Labour Party. After the party had won the elections in 1948 and 1953, his leader, Guy Rozemont (1915-1956), made a request for the Secretary of State for the Colonies to receive a Mauritian delegation so as to discuss constitutional reforms. The First and Second Constitutional Conferences were held in London in February 1955 and July 1957, respectively. A main demand of the MLP was a the right for all, including the workers, to vote.

In 1959, the MLP, allied with the Comité d’Action Musulman (Moslem Action Committee), won the elections again. In July 1961, during the Third Consitutional Conference, the Mauritian delegates demanded absolute autonomy and independence to be proclaimed in 1964. In 1963, the MLP won the elections again, and the independence was discussed during the Fourth Constitutional Conference held in September 1965. The MLP, allied with the Comité d’Action Musulman and the Independent Foreward Block in the coalition called Independence Party, won the elections in 1967. The independence of Mauritius was proclaimed on 12 March 1968 in Port Louis.

The MLP is member of the Socialist International. Its most famous leader is Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam (1900-1985), who succeeded Maurice Curé (1886-1977) as the party's leader in 1941 and obtained the independence of Mauritius. Known as the Father of the Nation, Ramgoolam was Prime Minister from the independence until 1982 and Governor-General from 1983 to his death. His son Navinchandra Ramgoolam (b. 1947) was Prime Minister in 1995-2000, led the opposition from 2000 until 2005, and has been Prime Minister since the 2005 general elections won by his coalition, the Social Alliance (in French, Alliance Sociale).

Ivan Sache, 06 Jul 2008

Anything below this line was not added by the editor of this page.