This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Royal Standards (Perak, Malaysia)

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: perak | royal standard |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


In the Perak government, the Raja Muda will replace the Sultan and the Raja Di Hilir will replace the Raja Muda.
Giuseppe Bottasini, 13 August 1997

The Sultan has his own emblem but the Raja Muda, Raja Bendahara and Raja Di Hilir share the same emblem. (...) Prior to 1959, the order of precedence would be:

  • Sultan
  • Raja Muda
  • Raja Bendahara
  • Raja Di Hilir
In 1959, the title Raja Bendahara was abolished. Hence, his flag is now used by the Raja Di Hilir.

As for the colours, white is associated to the Sultan, yellow to the Raja Muda and black to both Raja Bendahara and Raja Di Hilir. These colours are used for their ceremonial garments. In addition, purple is reserved for the Raja-Raja Bergelar or "Titular Minor Rajas". There are four of them and whenever there is a vacancy in either the offices of the Sultan or the Raja Muda or the Raja Di Hilir, one of these titular rajas shall be promoted to the rank of Raja Di Hilir.

As for the Chiefs, green is reserved for the Orang Besar Empat or "the Four Supreme Chiefs" and sky blue is for the Orang Besar Lapan or "the Eight Supreme Chiefs".
Megat Iskandar bin Megat Zaharuddin, 21 and 24 April 2003

I asked Megat Iskandar bin Megat Zaharuddin whether there were any flags for either the Raja-Raja Bergelar or the Besars and he said there were none. Such colours are only used on ceremonial garments, umbrellas etc.
Santiago Dotor, 25 April 2003

I believe the word panji is a classical Malay word, perhaps derived from Sanskrit, meaning flag. The more common word for flag in Malay is bendera.

As for the Raja-Raja Bergelars, they have no flags. Only the colour purple is reserved for them e.g. at functions — guests are not allowed to wear colours like white, yellow, black or purple.

As for the Chiefs, the Orang Besar Empat (The Four), no flags are used but they have the right to walk under a green umbrella (except for the Bendahara — a black umbrella). Since 1959, the title Raja Bendahara was converted to the original Commoner title Orang Kaya Bendahara which is the most senior among the four chiefs. The Bendahara is the only Chief who can use Green or Black Umbrella.

I know this because the Bendaharaship was originally hereditary within my family — the Megats. However, in the 1770s, my great-great-great-great-great-great grandfather was the last Megat who held the title Orang Kaya Bendahara. The Sultan at that time then gave the title to his brother hence changed the title to Raja Bendahara. In 1959, the last Raja Bendahara died and the government agreed to abolish the Raja Bendahara title and returned the title to the Chiefs.

Similarly, the Orang Besar Lapan (The Eight) have the privilage of a Blue Umbrella.

So, in summary, the chiefs have no flags.
Megat Iskandar bin Megat Zaharuddin, 25 April 2003