This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kingdom of Sarawak 1841-1946 (Malaysia)

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: sarawak | borneo | brooke |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


The Kingdom of Sarawak was founded by James Brooke. As a reward for help in putting down a revolt, the Sultan of Brunei, Muda Hasim, conceded West Borneo to Brooke. He was recognised as ruler in 1846, the White Rajah of Sarawak, and was immortalised by the books of Emil Salgari. The Brooke dynasty continued until 1946 through his nephew, Charles Johnson Brooke (1868-1917) and Charles Vyner Brooke (1917-1946). At the extinction of the dynasty, following the testament of James Brooke, the kingdom was passed over to the British crown.
Jaume Ollé
, 9 June 1996

(Ed. note: There's no historical records to proof that the founder of the new born nation of the southwest of Borneo island, The Kingdom of Sarawak, married the Brunei Sultan's daughter and Charles Johnson or better known as Charles Brooke, was actually his sister's son, his nephew. With thanks to Horsea Moore Miri, 7 October 2018)

The British firmly established their presence in the northern part of Borneo in the years 1840-41. British Borneo, which belonged to the Brunei Sultan, was divided in North Borneo or Sabah, Brunei and Sarawak. The latter became property of Sir James Brooke which married the Sultan's daughter and was made Rajah of Sarawak in 1841. His son Charles Johnson succeeded him and in 1888 Sarawak became a British protectorate. Finally, in 1946 it became a colony. In 1963 Sarawak got independence and joined Malaysia.
Mario Fabretto, 18 September 1997