This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kavango (Namibia)


Last modified: 2011-01-15 by bruce berry
Keywords: namibia | kavango | bantustan | stripes |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[flag of Kavango] image by Mark Sensen

See also:

Explanation of Kavango's flag

The design of the flag of the former flag of the Kavango homeland in South West Africa is set out in section 2 of the Kavango Flag Act, 1973 which reads as follows:

"The Kavango Flag shall be green with three horizontal stripes of equal width in the centre which from top to bottom shall be orange, white and blue.
The width of the Kavango flag shall be equal to two-thirds of its length.
The width of the three horizontal stripes shall be one-sixth of the width of the flag".
Kavango is relatively well-watered, in contrast to much of the remainder of the country. Consequently the area is greener and this is the explanation for the predominance of green on the flag. The orange, white and blue stripes link this flag with the principal colours of the former South African national flag.

Kavango was re-incorporated into Namibia at independence on 21 March 1990 and this flag is no longer in use.
Bruce Berry, 25 November 1998

History of Kavango

In terms of the League of Nations' mandate for what was then South West Africa, responsibility for the well-being and development of the indigenous population was vested in the Administrator of South West Africa, who represented the Government of South Africa in the territory.  Initially tribal authorities had been created and these played an increasing role in the administration of their own affairs.  After 1948 the South African Government viewed the creation of self-governing states based on the boundaries of the major ethnic groups - both within South Africa and in the territory of South West Africa for which it was responsible in terms of the League of Nations mandate - as a means of fulfilling the political aspirations of the indigenous population. 

Legislation in the form of the Development of Self-Government for Native Nations in South West Africa Act was passed in 1968 which allowed for the creation of " or areas ... be reserved and set apart for the exclusive use and occupation by an native nation ...".  Over the next 10 years Legislative Councils were established in terms of the Act which also allowed for the creation of coats of arms and flags for these "homelands".  These coats of arms were for use on official correspondence, documents and publications in place of the South African or South West African arms while section 3 of each of the Flag Acts specified that the respective Homeland flag "shall be flown side by side with the National Flag of the Republic (of South Africa) at the buildings where the Legislative Council holds its sessions, at the principal administrative office and all main district offices of the Government of ... and at such places ... as the Government may determine".   Thus, as with the Homelands in South Africa, a dual flag arrangement would apply.

Homeland Symbols were designed for the Owambo (Arms and flag), Kavango (Arms and flag), Caprivi (Arms and flag), Damaraland (Arms and proposed flag), Administration for Tswanas (Arms only), and the Administration for Namas (Arms only).

Following the independence of Namibia in 1990, the ethnically based Homeland system was dismantled and these symbols are no longer used.
Bruce Berry, 25 Nov 1998