This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kollumerland en Nieuwkruisland (The Netherlands)

Fryslân province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: kollumerland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

kollumerland municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 19 Apr 1960

Other Kollumerland pages: See also:

Kollumerland en Nieuwkruisland

Population (1 Jan 2003): 13.363; area: 116,35 km². Settlements: Kollum (seat), Augsbuurt, Burum, Kollumerpomp, Kollumerzwaag, Munnekezijl, Oudwoude, Triemen, Veenklooster, Warfstermolen, Westergeest, Zwagerbos.
Official name: Kollumerland en Nieuwkruisland / Kollumerlân en Nijkrúslân, in northeast Friesland, the Netherlands. Nijkrúslân has been won by 'inpoldering' of the Lauwerszee, in the eastern part.
Flag: "Seven stripes red-yellow-green-white-green-yellow-red, 1 : 1 : 1 : 3 : 1 : 1 : 1; with on the white stripe at the hoist side a red six-pointed star, one point pointing to the upper side." adopted 19 Apr 1960.. RYV is the old flag of the 'vlek' of Kollum, the municipal seat with its own 'Stadsfries' dialect. The red star and the white bar have been borrowed from the municipal Coat of Arms to point at the unity of both parts of the municipality.
The Coat of Arms is: Per fess in three parts silver, gold, and green; the gold charged with a red six-pointed star.
Source: Kl. Sierksma: Nederlands Vlaggenboek (1962) and De Gemeentewapens van Nederland (1960).
Jarig Bakker, 27 August 1999

Kollumerland village flags

The designs of the villageflags in the municpality of Kollumerland en Nieuw Kruisland were made in consultation with the "Fryske Rie foar Heraldyk" (Frisian Council for Heraldry) by Mr. Minnema, Mr. Keune and Mr. Offringa, members of the "Geakunde-commissie van Kollumerland c.a." (historical society, Dutch: heemkunde), 1969/1970. No mention is made of
adoption dates, so it is possible that some flags were never used. All villageflags are described with proportions 3:4 - however it was later decided to adopt the usual Dutch ratio of 2:3.
Jarig Bakker, 15 May 2003